Founded in 1974, the AIFVF has been presenting the best in international film for 46 years. Known globally as a festival that supports cinema from underground and marginalized populations, the AIFVF represents the values that we share as a community. It is a champion of justice and provides a voice for underrepresented artists and viewpoints on a global level. For four decades, Athens International has embraced experimental, narrative, short-form, feature length, and documentary films from every corner of the globe, offering filmmakers a stellar platform for public exposure and an environment that values artistry above marquee names and industry relationships.

The Competition Process

Each year, a Prescreening Committee comprised of artists, students, and community activists watch all the films and videos entered in the competition. After all entries have been watched, the pre-screeners evaluate all entries to determine films to include in public screenings.

Cash prizes are awarded by guest jurors, in four categories: documentary, experimental, narrative, and animation. Festival Jurors will be announced just prior to the Festival. Awards will be announced on the final day of the Festival.

Competition films are then programmed around various themes that emerge from the films selected; our intention is to group films into shows that reflect a common thematic thread. This year 2,200 films were submitted to the competition. From these; 235 films from 41 countries were chosen to screen at this year’s festival.

Festival Staff

Director: David Colagiovanni
Graduate Assistants: Zhe Chen, Molly Rasberry, Kien Le
Hospitality Coordinator: Kelee Riesbeck
Technical Direction: Dan Bruell, Dan Moray
Design and Art Direction: Nisiqi
Transportation: Christa Young, Tanner Bidish
Music Programming: Aaron Butler
Screen Printing: Melissa Haviland
Proofreading: Daryl Malarry Davidson
Intern: Fisher McDiarmid
Festival Staff: Ohio University Film Division students, and the students of the Film Festival Practicum.
Screening Team: Film 4440, 4710/20 and 5710/20 Festival Practicum Students, Lorraine Wochna, Jeremy Bessoff, Priyanka Das, Semih Bedir, Rani Crowe, Daniel King, Tanner Bidish, Brian MacNeel, Carrie Love, Hannah Espia, Jeremy Humbert, Rachel Eldridge-Allegra, and Kien Le.

Athena Cinema Staff

Director: Alexandra Kamody
Technical Director & Audience Experience Coordinator: Yang Miller
Administrative Services Associate: Connor Baker

The Athena is staffed by a talented group of over 40 Ohio University students from a wide range of disciplines and backgrounds.

Contact us:

Mailing Address:
Athens Int’l Film and Video Festival
P.O. Box 388, Athens, OH 45701
Phone: 740-593-1330
Fax: 740-597-2560 fax
Email: athensohiofilmfest@gmail.com
Social: Facebook, Twitter, Instagram